THE RESORT AT GLADE SPRINGS

Teachers Resource Directory of Available Speakers

The Beckley-Raleigh County Chamber of Commerce Education Committee has formed a group of member representatives (Speakers Bureau) interested in speaking to Raleigh County students by invitation from teachers on specific careers and topics related to their business or interests.

BRCCC maintains this contact list of speakers that will be made available to Raleigh County teachers so that they can contact speakers directly when they have a need for an outside, “real life” presentation on a subject being discussed in the classroom.

This list also includes a “Judges” section of interested representatives available to be Judges at school events, presentations and contests.

Click here for an Application to become a Speaker

Beckley-Raleigh County Chamber of Commerce Education Committee

TEACHERS RESOURCE DIRECTORY OF AVAILABLE SPEAKERS

Available Speakers Listing Serving Raleigh County Schools

SPEAKING CATEGORIES:

BANKING / FINANCIAL SERVICES

BUSINESS

CAREER SKILLS / JOB TRAINING

COMMUNITY SERVICE

HEALTHCARE

PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT / COUNSELING

SCHOOL EVENT JUDGES


BANKING / FINANCIAL SERVICES

Abigail Scott / Mike Akers

City National Bank
One Park Avenue, Beckley, WV 25801
304-255-7270
abigail.scott@bankatcity.com
Topics: Banking / Credit / Savings / Banking Careers / Bank Job Applying

Hunter Wade
Cornerstone Financial Group
903 South Oakwood Avenue, Beckley, WV 25801
304-929-7287
cornerstonefg@suddenlinkmail.com
Topics: Stocks / Bonds / Mutual Funds / Investments

Philip Hutchison
Hutchison Insurance & Finance
304 Highland Avenue, Oak Hill, WV 25901
304-465-0085
philip.hutchison@axa-advisors.com
Topics: Life Insurance / Annuities / Health Insurance / Mutual Funds / Retirement Planning / Financial Planning / Business Planning

Bree Emerson
Chase Bank
500 Neville Street, Beckley, WV 25801
304-256-2280
julaina.x.wientjes@chase.com
Topics: General Banking

Cathy James
MCNB Bank & Trust Co.
85 Jerome Van Meter Drive, Beckley, WV 25801
304-253-5050
cathy.james@mcnbbanks.com
Topics: Saving for Future / Open Checking Acct / Maintain Checking

Carl Bowman
First Century Bank
1826 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
304-254-2978 / 304-573-1480
cbowman@firstcentury.com
Topics: Finance / Attending College / Credit Cards

Donna Feijo
New River Community & Technical College
280 University Drive, Beaver WV 25813
304-929-6723
dfeijo@newriver.edu
Financial Aid

Tari Workman
First Century Bank
1826 Harper Road, Beckley WV 25801
304-254-2976
tworkman@firstcentury.com


BUSINESS

Noah Bolser / Mariah Ritterbush
Valley College
120 New River Town Center, Suite C, Beckley WV 25801
304-252-9547
nbalser@valley.edu  /  mritterbush@valley.edu
www.valley.edu
Valley College Programs, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning


Alex Williams

Hometown Automotive Group
117 Midtown Avenue, Mt. Hope, WV 25880
PO Box 190, Prosperity, WV 25909
304-255-1406
arwilliams@hometownsubaru.com
Topics: Accounting / Business Management / Business Finance

Richard Jarrell
Chick-Fil-A, Galleria Plaza
1300 North Eisenhower Dr., Beckley, WV 25801
304-250-0158 / 304-228-1106
Beckley.FSU@chick-fil-a.com
Topics: Business / Marketing / Community Involvement

Michele Sarrett
Custom Business Solutions
313 Market Road, Beckley, WV 25801
W 681-238-5732 / C 304-763-1199
msarrett@cbswv.com
Topics: Accounting / Business Management

Frank Brady
WVVA Television
PO Box 1930, Bluefield, WV 24701
304-324-0650
fbrady@wvva.com
Topics: TV Station Operation / News Gathering / TV Advertising

Sherrie Hunter
Raleigh County Solid Waste Authority
PO Box 989, Beckley, WV 25801
304-255-9335
shunter@raleigh-swa.org
Topics: Landfill Operations, Recycling, Litter Awareness, Raleigh County Make it Shine

Thomas Burdette / Melinda Sexton
HMS Host
PO Box 920, Beckley, WV 25801
304-255-6773
Topics: Management, Food Industry, Travel Plazas


CAREER SKILLS / JOB TRAINING

Myra Harper

McDonald's Raleigh County
2302 South Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
304-252-0965
myraharper@rocketmail.com
Topics: Applying for Job / Nutrition / Work Ethic / Marketing

Connie Saunders
Saunders Staffing Inc.
605 South Oakwood Avenue, Beckley, WV 25801
304-256-0560
csaunders@citlink.net
Topics: Career Search / Getting & Keeping a Job / Successful Image

Beth Gardner
Valley College
713 South Oakwood Avenue Beckley, WV 25801
304-252-9547
bgardner@valley.edu
Topics: Professional Work / Ethics / Getting & Keeping a Job

Kathryn Leftwich
Bridgemont Community & Tech
619 Second Avenue Montgomery, WV 25136
304-734-6639
kleftwich@bridgemont.edu
Topics: Interviewing Skills / Resume Writing / Higher Education

Libby Belcher
New River Community & Technical College
280 University Drive, Beaver WV 25813
304-929-5464
ebelcher@newriver.edu
Our Faculty & Staff can speak on any topic needed
Financial Aid, Certificate / Degrees, Health Programs, Career Technology, Environmental Science, Career Choices, Choosing and Attending College and more

Allen Withers
New River Community & Technical College
280 University Drive, Beaver WV 25813
304-929-5008
awithers@newriver.edu
Our Faculty & Staff can speak on any topic needed
Financial Aid, Certificate / Degrees, Health Programs, Career Technology, Environmental Science, Career Choices, Choosing and Attending College and more

Maria Rhodes
304-222-6390 / 304-252-4820
mswmrhodes@icloud.com

Sarah Turner
Concord University
Campus Box 83, PO Box 1000, Athens WV 24712
304-384-5348
slturner@concord.edu


COMMUNITY SERVICE

William Scott Hill

American Red Cross
200 Industrial Drive, PO Box 1101, Beckley, WV 25801
540-580-3908
hillws@usa.redcross.org
Topics: Blood Drives / Blood Services / Community Donation / Blood Donation

Susan Landis
Beckley Area Foundation
129 Main Street, Suite 203, Beckley, WV 25801
304-253-3806
susan@beckleyareafoundation.com
Topics: Non-Profit Charitable Organizations

Jennifer Gibson
Council on Aging, Inc.
PO Box 458, Mullens WV25882
304-294-8800
gibsonj@wccoa.com
Topics: Leadership / Volunteering / Senior Citizens / Non Profit Accounting

April Elkins
Conservation Legacy VISTA Program
115 South Kanawha Street, Beckley WV 25801
304-252-4848 / 304-533-3265
april@conservationlegacy.org
Topics: Volunteerism / National Service Opportunities / Conservation

Jill Moorefield

Beckley Events
PO Box 5015 Beckley, WV 25801
304-256-1776
jmoorefield@beckley.org
Topics: Events & Festivals / Event Planning / Community Service / Event Marketing / Youth Council

Keith Richmond
U.S. Department of Agriculture - Farm Services Agency
473 Ragland Road, Beckley WV
304-253-9597
keith.richmond@wv.usda.gov
Topics: Agriculture / Government Functions

Anesa Owen
Office of Surface Mining, Reclamation and Enforcement
313 Harper Park Drive, Beckley WV 25801
304-255-5265 x 106
aowen@osmre.gov
Federal Jobs, Apply for Federal Jobs, AmeriCorps, VISTA

David R. Stewart
Executive Director, Piney Creek Watershed Association
P.O. Box 672, Beckley, West Virginia 25802
304-228-1680
Pineycreekwatershedassociation@gmail.com
Environmental Awareness, Water Cycles, Military Service, Non-Profit Organizations, Volunteering


HEALTHCARE

Teresa Dickens
Best Ambulance Service
1801 Robert C. Byrd Drive, Beckley WV 25801
304-578-4741 / 304-252-5522
tdickens@bestambulance.org

Topics: Emergency Medicine, Leadership, Sales, Business Structure

Paul Seamann
Jan-Care Ambulance Service
1549 Harper Road Beckley, WV 25801
304-673-5773
pseamann@jancare.com
Topics: EMS Career / Safety / Health / Disasters

Mick Bates
Bodyworks Health Fitness & Rehabilitation
9 Yellow Wood Way Beckley, WV 25801
304-255-2376
mick07@bodyworkshfr.com
Topics: Health / Fitness / Rehabilitation / Healthcare / Training

Ronald  Moreland
New River Community & Technical College
280 University Drive, Beaver WV 25813
304-929-3319
rmoreland@newriver.edu
Exercise / Ergonomics (setting up a workplace to reduce injuries)


PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT / COUNSELING

Hamlet Smith

Life Strategies Counseling
PO Box 5084, Beckley, WV 25801
304-255-7526
hamlet@lifestrat.com
Topics: Counseling Issues / Marriage & Family / Depression / Anxiety / Stress Mgmt. / Anger / Sexuality / Alcohol Abuse / Drug Abuse

Mandy Wriston / Sharon Cruikshank
Fayette County Chamber of Commerce
New River Gorge Convention & Visitors Bureau
310 Oyler Avenue, Oak Hill WV 25901
304-465-5617

mandy@officialbridgeday.com
mandolyn75@hotmail.com
sharon@fayettecounty.com
Topics:  Tourism / Bridge Day / Leadership

J. C. McPeake
Beckley Police Department
400 Stanaford Road, Beckley, WV 25801
304-256-4646 x 7199
jmcpeake@beckleypd.com
Topics: Personal Safety, Internet Safety, Law Enforcement, Bullying, DUI Prevention, Sexting

Melanie Hicks
Coffee Beans & Books
School of Harmony Building
159 Granby Circle, Beaver, WV 25813
304-860-1990
melanie@coffeebeansandbooks.com
Topics: Importance of reading and how to make reading fun


SCHOOL EVENT JUDGES

Allen Withers

New River Community & Technical College
221 George Street, Beckley, WV 25801
304-929-5008
awithers@newriver.edu
Judge – Shady Spring Schools

Melanie Hicks
Coffee Beans & Books
School of Harmony Building
159 Granby Circle, Beaver, WV 25813
304-860-1990
melanie@coffeebeansandbooks.com
Judge – All Schools


Tari Workman
First Century Bank
1826 Harper Road, Beckley WV 25801
304-254-2976
tworkman@firstcentury.com
Judge – All Schools

Mandy Wriston / Sharon Cruikshank
Fayette County Chamber of Commerce
New River Gorge Convention & Visitors Bureau
310 Oyler Avenue, Oak Hill WV 25901
304-465-5617

mandy@officialbridgeday.com
mandolyn75@hotmail.com
sharon@fayettecounty.com
Judge - All Schools

Maria Rhodes
304-222-6390 / 304-252-4820
Judge - All Schools

Teresa Dickens
Best Ambulance Service
1801 Robert C. Byrd Drive, Beckley WV 25801
304-578-4741 / 304-252-5522
tdickens@bestambulance.org

Judge - All Schools